14 June 2018
Feature

When Ferrari makes a track special of its mid-engined V8 supercar, it doesn’t tend to get it wrong. 

And so to the Ferrari 488 Pista, a car that, Ferrari says, has more motorsport in it than any of its other road cars. 

It has the engine and aerodynamics from the Ferrari 488 Challenge car, but, at 661bhp, it not only makes 50bhp more than the regular 488 GTB and 20% more downforce, it’s also up to 90kg lighter thanks to a widespread adoption of carbon fibre.

Does this mean, though, that it’ll have the measure of other low-volume, race-inspired cars like the Porsche 911 GT2 RS and Lamborghini Huracan Performante? Join us as we find out whether this is another Ferrari special that ticks every gorgeous box it should.

Read more 

Ferrari 488 GTB review 

Ferrari 812 Superfast review 

Ferrari Portofino review

Join the debate

Comments
6

14 June 2018

 Having driven three Supercars one after the other I’m cured!!, I no longer crave high speed on main Roads, I no longer try to keep up with faster Cars, I no see how easy i5 would be to have a big accident driving one of these Cars especially in cold Weather, the costs to run let alone own one is another factor, no, pterry they may be but I don’t get excited about then anymore....

Peter Cavellini.

14 June 2018

Peter, just be glad these things still exist. We'll be ambling around in soulless, electric touchscreens-on-wheels soon enough....

16 June 2018

Without - breaking the law, killing anyone, doing more miles than you are 'allowed', stressing the hell out of yourself (and your unlucky passenger), wrecking the car, or looking a complete knob?

Nowhere - apart from a circuit. Not that any of us will ever get the choice, all of these will already have spaces reserved in private underground Beverley Hills garages and pop star storage facilities in the home counties.

Having said all that, a Ferrari joined the M1 I was on the other day and accelerated past me at full chelp. Luckily I'd dropped my window in anticipation - spine tingling doesn't cover it.

16 June 2018

That things looks like an absolute HOOT!

19 June 2018

That is the question.  Whether a Noble in the lanes to race the Silver Arrows with outrageous power.  Or stick parts against a Seat Cupra and go posing outside Dixons.

Either way one cannot legally and safely enjoy the full potential available.  In fact, if one goes everywhere driving a basic eighty-five bhp supermini at eight-tenths of flat out, then one will find oneself overtaking most of everything else on the road.  So the idea that one would own a supercar with the intention of actually exploiting its capabilities is not going to appear anywhere on the list of reasons for wanting one.

A supercar is like a pair of expensive shoes.  They won't make one walk any faster, they won't keep one's feet any drier, they won't prevent one from tripping over broken pavement.  They simply give one a pleasant and contented feeling to wear, purely subjectively.  My expensive shoes of choice would be a 612 Scaglietti.  It's immensely pretty and would probably keep up with a supermini.

I don't need to put my name here, it's on the left

 

20 June 2018

They should rather do a 488 without turbo, lighter and with less power.

 

Add your comment

Log in or register to post comments

Find an Autocar car review

Driven this week

  • Audi TTS 2018 first drive review hero front
    First Drive
    18 July 2018
    As talented as it’s always been, the TT covers every base as well as you would expect – even if it could be a little more exciting
  • Mazda 6 2018 first drive review hero front
    First Drive
    18 July 2018
    Refreshed saloon is much more convincing inside, but range-topping 2.5-litre petrol engine makes concessions not seen lower down the range
  • Skoda Octavia vRS diesel longterm review hero front
    First Drive
    18 July 2018
    We’ve just had a diesel vRS for three months. Next up: a petrol vRS for three months. Which makes the better buy?
  • Maserati Levante Gransport 2018 UK first drive review hero front
    First Drive
    17 July 2018
    Minor updates make a big impact on high-riding Levante's refinement, even if outright performance still falls shy of rivals
  • Suzuki Swift Sport 2018 long-term review hero front
    First Drive
    16 July 2018
    The Japanese hot hatch is all grown up in terms of character, technology and price, but is it still a fun-loving kid at heart? Let’s find out

Latest videos